Research and Innovation Community

The WEF Research and Innovation/Research and Innovation for Strengthening Engagement (RISE) Community will continue to support the core value of accelerating the adoption of innovative technology within the water industry, integrating utilities, academics, and consultants in the discussion.

The community will:

  • Ensure communication between researchers working in academic and other research settings and coordinate input to WEF's efforts to understand and address priorities such as knowledge development and transfer, research funding, and so forth.
  • Support and foster the participation of members from the academic and research communities in WEF's critical objective of driving innovation.
  • Lead and support efforts to increase the participation of academics and other researchers in WEF programs.
  • Provide leadership for and coordination of WEF's research-related conferences, including proposing events and meetings.

Chair
Erika Bailey, 2022-2024
Email:  erika.bailey@raleighnc.gov

Vice Chairs
Pusker Regmi, 2023-2025
Email:  pregmi@brwncald.com

Xavier Fonoll-Almansa, 2024-2026
Email:  xavier.fonoll@utexas.edu 

Past Chair
Annalisa Onnis-Hayden, 2021-2023 
Email:  a.onnis-hayden@northeastern.edu

Staff Manager
Fidan Karimova
Practice Leader, Global Sustainability and Innovation
Email:  fkarimova@wef.org



View archived RIC Forum Webcasts and Research and Innovation Community Technical Resources.

Below are the latest RISE focus groups. The focus group topics were selected by the RISE community. Each focus group has a timeframe of about one year, after which the focus group members vote to continue the work for another year, or to sunset the group. If you would like to join any of the focus groups, or to join the RISE community, please email Fidan Karimova (fkarimova@wef.org). 

 

Bioforms and Intensification

Chair: Rudy Maltos, Metro Water Recovery - rmaltos@metrowaterrecovery.com 

 


Digestion Intensification 

Chair: Parisa Chegounian, Metro Vancouver - parisa.chegounian@metrovancouver.org 

 


Hydrothermal Liquefaction

Chair: Michael Thorson, PNNL - michael.thorson@pnnl.gov 

 


Improvements in Pre-digestion Hydrolysis Processes

Chair: Tom Nangle, Brown and Caldwell - tnangle@brwncald.com 
Vice Chair: Rashi Gupta, Carollo - rgupta@carollo.com 

 


Mainstream Carbon Efficient Nitrogen Removal through PdNA

Chair: Stephanie Klaus, Hampton Roads Sanitation District - sklaus@hrsd.com 


Membrane Aerated Biofilm Reactor (MABR)

Chair: Jeff Peeters, Veolia - jeff.peeters@veolia.com 
Vice Chair: Per Henrik Nielsen, VandCenter Syd - phn@vandcenter.dk 

 

Resource Recovery through FOG 

Chair: Michael Simpson, LA Sanitation and Environment - michael.simpson@lacity.org 

 

Soft Sensors and Machine Learning Possibilities and Applications

Chair: Aditya Ramamurthy, Kennedy Jenks - adityaramamurthy@kennedyjenks.com 
Vice Chair: Jennifer Loudon, Intelligent Water Services - jloudon82@gmail.com 
Vice Chair: Fenghua Yang, MMSD - fyang@mmsd.com 

 

Related Areas

Latest News
Latest News
Second Annual WEF Circular Water Economy Summit to Drive Sustainable Solutions
See more
WEF Enters New Era with Water Sector Veteran Ralph Exton at the Helm
See more
EPA: Stormwater, Wastewater Sectors Need $630 Billion+ Over Next 20 Years
See more
$6 Billion Plan Aims to Flood-Proof New York City’s Transit System
See more
Remote Sensing Could Shape the Future of Natural Disaster Assessment
See more
Upcoming WEF Events
Upcoming WEF Events
Residuals and Biosolids Conference 2024
See more
Circular Water Economy Summit 2024
See more
WEFTEC
See more

Join a Community

WEF members can join almost all communities using our Community Platform. 

  • Meet other members
  • Interact in the forums
  • Find opportunities
  • Join calls and meetings
Visit the Community Platform

Visit Our Community Platform

This virtual workspace, called WEFUnity, empowers WEF members to network and collaborate in an online environment.

See what's happening in the Community Platform

Join or Renew Your WEF Membership Today

Connect with our community of water professionals who ensure that our local communities have access to clean water that protects public health. Explore our member benefits and find the membership type that’s right for you.

Join or Renew Online