The Utility Management Committee is the preeminent Committee within WEF for educating and assisting utility managers on ways to make their operations and infrastructure more effective and sustainable.

The main goal of the Utility Management Committee (UMC) is to promote the adoption of effective and sustainable management practices across all aspects of wastewater utility operations.

The UMC shall review, analyze and share the latest techniques and strategies for the best management of organizations and the successful operation of effective utilities, professional consulting practices, or any organization engaged in the management of water and wastewater operations. It shall endeavor to develop appropriate and timely educational and outreach tools and techniques (workshops, presentations, webinars, white papers, technical sessions at the annual conference, written manuals of practice) to educate and train utility managers at all levels to meet the ongoing mission, goals and objectives of the Water Environment Federation.

The UMC meets twice per year to conduct the business of the Committee, to receive updates on current WEF Management initiatives and to continue work on the annual action programs of each of the UMC Subcommittees.


Committee Membership Application

WEFCOM

 
 

 

Chair

Bruce Husselbee, 2015 - 2018
Tel: (757) 460-7012
Email: bhusselbee@hrsd.com

 

Vice-Chairs

Todd Swingle, 2017 - 2019
Tel:  812-447-5351
Email:  todd.swingle@ocfl.net


Mike Martin, 2017 - 2019
Tel:  414-225-2148
Email: mmartin@mmsd.com


Communication Manager
Jon Grant
grantjn@gmail.com

 

Staff Liaison

Lisa McFadden
Tel: 703-684-2400 ext. 7060
Email: LMcfadden@wef.org

Aging Infrastructure, Population Growth Among Multitude of Challenges Faced by Utility Leaders

See Utility/Asset Management Topic:

Water and wastewater utility leaders face a variety of management challenges. These can include the demands of aging infrastructure and/or expanding populations; decreased grant monies and rate payer capacity constraints; new and more stringent regulatory requirements; increased public expectations for service, performance, and transparency; and work force demographics.

Utility Management Subcommittees

Facilities Management
 Maura Bonnarens - Chair
 Maura.bonnarens@ebmud.com


Finance and Administration

 Jon Davis - Chair
 jdavis@raftelis.com

CIP Planning and Delivery
 Aditya Ramamurthy - Chair
 aramamurthy@hazenandsawyer.com

 

Strategic Organizational Practices
 Ryan Nagel - Chair
 rnagel@hazenandsawyer.com


Workforce Sustainability
Richard Gerstberger - Chair
rgerstberger@tapresource.com