The Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism.

The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.

WEF Member Associations select their recipient for the Hatfield Award following the WEF general criteria indicated below:

  • Member of the Water Environment Federation
  • Documentation of a successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
  • Use of a good public relations program.
  • The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field

How To Submit A Nomination To Your Member Association

If you would like to nominate yourself or someone else for the Hatfield Award, please click the link below to access the Nomination Form:

MA Nomination Form

Mail or e-mail this form and all attachments to your Member Association's Awards Program Manager.

Click here to find your MA's contact information.


Please contact Tori Cox at [email protected] if you have any questions.

WEF Member Association Staff Information

Once the nominees have been confirmed by a selection committee within the MA, each Member Association must submit an official Awards Order Form to Tori Cox at [email protected]. Click the link below to access the Awards Order Form:

MA Awards Order Form

*The MA Awards Order Form must be submitted by WEF Member Association Staff.

Nomination deadline
WEF must receive the MA Awards Order Form a minimum of 8 weeks prior to the start date of a MA Conference.