This award recognizes a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for establishing and maintaining an active and effective safety program.

This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF's annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets.

The purpose of this award is to encourage an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities.

Award presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.


  • Member of the Water Environment Federation
  • Organizational leadership, administrative service, membership activity, stimulation of technical functions, or similar participation.

How to Submit A Nomination To Your Member Association

If you would like to nominate yourself or someone else for the Burke Award, please click the link below to access the Nomination Form:

MA Nomination Form

Mail or e-mail this form and all attachments to your Member Association's Awards Program Manager.

Click here to find your MA's contact information.


Please contact Dianne Crilley if you have any questions.

MA Awards Order Form

A MA Board, Awards Chair or MA Staff must
submit the order form to:

WEF Staff Dianne Crilley at


Nomination deadline
WEF must receive the MA Awards Order Form a minimum of 8 weeks prior to the start date of a MA Conference.