National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards Program

Nominations open: March 8- April 15, 2016!  

The National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards program, led by the Water Environment Federation (WEF) through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), was established in 2015 to recognize high-performing regulated Municipal Separate Stormwater Sewer Programs (MS4s).  Now, in its second year and hosted by WEF, the objective of this program is to inspire MS4 program leaders to seek new and innovative ways to meet and exceed regulatory requirements in a manner that is both technically effective as well as financially efficient.  Recognition of innovative approaches is also a highlight of this program.   


Please click here for fillable PDF application

2015 Award Winners:  

The award winners were formally announced and celebrated at the Stormwater Congress Luncheon on Monday, September 28 at WEFTEC 2015 in Chicago. 

On behalf of the program committee, we are thrilled to list the following winners: 

  • Winner in Program Management  

    Phase I  – Montgomery County DEP, MD
    Phase II – Lafayette Consolidated Govt, Lafayette, LA   
  • Winner in Innovation    

    Phase I – City of Santa Monica, CA and City of Tacoma, WA
    Phase II – City of Alexandria, VA 
  • Overall Winner with the highest score    

    Phase I – Charlotte Stormwater Services, Charlotte, NC
    Phase II – City of Fairbanks, AK  

 Congratulations to the winners!   

List of Participants:  

See below for a complete list of Phase I and Phase II MS4 applicants, who participated in the 2015 awards program.

Phase I
  • Charlotte Stormwater Services, NC
  • City of Chattanooga, TN
  • City of Santa Monica, CA
  • City of Tacoma, WA
  • Louisville MSD, KY
  • Montgomery County DEP, MD
  • Sewerage & Water Board, New Orleans, LA
  • TDOT Compliance Office, Nashville, TN
Phase II 
  • Capitol Region Watershed District, MN
  • Chemung County Stormwater Coalition, NY
  • City of Alexandria, VA
  • City of Fairbanks, AK
  • City of Inver Grove Heights, MN
  • City of Lenexa, KS       

 Phase II (Continued) 
  • City of Mt.Juliet, TN
  • City of Oshkosh, WI
  • City of Springfield, OH
  • City of St. Cloud, MN
  • City of Storm Lake, IA
  • City of Tuscaloosa, AL
  • City of Valparaiso, IN
  • Jefferson Parish, LA
  • Lafayette Consolidated Government, LA
  • Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District, MO
  • Purdue University, IN
  • South Burlington, VT
  • St Tammany Parish (County), LA
  • Town of Ashland, VA
  • Town of Ceredo, WV
  • Western Michigan University, MI


View this PDF for comparative benchmarking levels for both Phase I and Phase II MS4s, under Program Management and Innovation categories.        

If you have any questions, please contact Kelsey Hurst or