Media Contact: Lori Harrison, (703) 684-2480

October 29, 2009

Teams from the University of Colorado-Boulder and the University of Florida Win the 2009 WEF Student Design Competition


Alexandria, Va. – The Water Environment Federation (WEF) announces the University of Colorado-Boulder and the University of Florida as winners of the 2009 Student Design Competition. The eighth annual competition took place earlier this month at WEFTEC®.09, WEF's 82nd annual technical exhibition and conference, in Orlando, Fla.

The University of Colorado-Boulder team’s project, “Robert W. Hite Treatment Facility: South Complex Secondary Treatment Upgrade, Denver, CO” won in wastewater design category and the University of Florida (UF) team's project, "Green Infrastructure and LID Design for a Florida Constructed Environs Subject to Rainfall-Runoff Loadings” won in the environmental design category. This was the first entry and win for the University of Colorado-Boulder and the fourth win for the University of Florida in eight years. 

A program of the WEF Students & Young Professionals Committee (SYPC), the competition promotes “real world” design experience for students interested in pursuing an education and/or career in water/wastewater engineering and sciences. It tasks individuals or teams of students within a WEF student chapter to prepare a design to help solve a local water quality issue.  Teams evaluate alternatives, perform calculations, and recommend the most feasible solution based on experience, economics, and feasibility.  

Members of the University of Colorado-Boulder team included Leanne Miller, Sean Aronson, Rishabh Iyer, John Craven, Bradley Short, Jayson Ellis and their faculty advisor, Dr. Angela Bielefeldt. Members of the University of Florida team included Ruben Kertesz, Kerrilynn Maccarone, Saurabh Raje, Karl Seltzer, Michele Siminari, Peter Simms, Brandon Wood, and their faculty advisor, Dr. John Sansalone. Both teams received certificates and a $2,500 award from WEF Past President Jim Clark during a ceremony on October 11th.

Sponsored by MWH, Black & Veatch, CDM, CH2M HILL, Greeley and Hansen, Malcolm Pirnie, and Parsons Water & Infrastructure, this year’s competition was organized by SYPC Chair, Michelle Hatcher with assistance from Design Competition Co-Chair Lauren Zuravnsky, SYPC members Rebecca McLarty and Haley Falconer, and WEF staff liaison Dianne Crilley. Click here for more information.

About WEF

Founded in 1928, the Water Environment Federation (WEF) is a not-for-profit technical and educational organization with 36,000 individual members and 75 affiliated Member Associations representing water quality professionals around the world. WEF members, Member Associations and staff proudly work to our mission to provide bold leadership, champion innovation, connect water professionals, and leverage knowledge to support clean and safe water worldwide. To learn more, visit www.wef.org.