U.S. SJWP National Competition 


2015 Student Group Photo - Loudon Water 


 Enter Competition

Started in 1997, the Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP) is considered the most prestigious award for water related science, both nationally and internationally.  The prize was developed to model the adult Stockholm Water Prize, which has been compared to the Nobel Prize for water research.  The prize strives to encourage enthusiasm in today’s youth regarding water issues, build an international community of young scientists bonded together for the water environment, raise public awareness about the future of water resources, and develop and ensure future leadership in the water quality community by attracting the best and brightest young people into the water sector field. 


The SJWP national competition is open to SJWP state winners only and will take place the third weekend of June of each year..  Hosted by the Water Environment Federation (WEF), with support from Xylem Inc., and local WEF Member Associations, the competition schedule will feature two days of educational and entertaining events, where students will have the opportunity to mingle with other like-minded students and water quality professionals  

For more information, contact Stevi Hunt-Cottrell at 


Parents and Guests: 

While we know that parents and guests are excited for their student(s) and may plan on accompanying them to the competition, it is important to know that only students will be allowed to attend the scheduled events, with the exception of the exhibition and judging which is open to the public; however, tickets may be purchased for the awards ceremony dinner.  Information regarding the dinner can be found in the information packet that will be sent to all state winners in early May. Simply complete the guest registration form and submit your payment to the address provided.  While the students are busy during the day, parents and guests may want to fill their time exploring all of the things to do in the host city! Competition is open to State winners only.