National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards Program

Nominations currently closed.  

The National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards program, led by the Water Environment Federation (WEF) through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), was established in 2015 to recognize high-performing regulated Municipal Separate Stormwater Sewer Programs (MS4s).  Now, in its second year and hosted by WEF, the objective of this program is to inspire MS4 program leaders to seek new and innovative ways to meet and exceed regulatory requirements in a manner that is both technically effective as well as financially efficient.  Recognition of innovative approaches is also a highlight of this program.   


Please click here for fillable PDF application

2016 Award Winners:  

The award winners were formally announced and celebrated at the Stormwater Congress Luncheon on Monday, September 26 at WEFTEC 2016 in New Orleans. 

On behalf of the sub-committee, we are thrilled to list the following winners: 

  • Winner in Program Management  

    Phase I  – City of Austin, Texas Watershed Protection Department

    Phase II – Kitsap County Public Works, WA   
  • Winner in Innovation    

    Phase I – Jefferson Parish Environmental Affairs, LA

    Phase II – City of Auburn, AL
  • Overall Winner with the highest score    

    Phase I – Santa Clara Valley Urban Runoff Pollution Prevention Program, CA

    Phase II – Capitol Region Watershed District, MN 

 Congratulations to the winners!   

List of Participants:  

See below for a complete list of Phase I and Phase II MS4 applicants, who participated in the 2016 awards program.

Phase I
  • Fairfax County Government, VA
  • Town of Jupiter, FL
Phase II 
  • City of Alexandria, VA
  • City of Fort Collins, CO
  • City of Tuscaloosa, AL
  • James Madison University, VA     


If you have any questions, please contact Kelsey Hurst or