The Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a WEF Member Association.

The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, WEF's second president for his long devotion and service to the New York Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, now the New York Water Environment Association. He was Chief of the Bureau of Sewage and Waste Disposal of the New York State Department of Health.

The award is presented by a WEF representative at the WEF Member Association Annual Meeting.


  • Member of the Water Environment Federation
  • Organizational leadership, administrative service, membership activity, stimulation of technical functions, or similar participation.

How to Submit A Nomination To Your Member Association

If you would like to nominate yourself or someone else for the Bedell Award, please click the link below to access the Nomination Form:

MA Nomination Form

Mail or e-mail this form and all attachments to your Member Association's Awards Program Manager.

Click here to find your MA's contact information.


Please contact Rebecca Culhane if you have any questions.

MA Awards Order Form

A MA Board, Awards Chair or MA Staff must
submit the order form to:

WEF Staff Rebecca Culhane at


Nomination deadline
WEF must receive the MA Awards Order Form a minimum of 8 weeks prior to the start date of a MA Conference.