This award commemorates the service of the first president of the Federation, Charles Alvin Emerson, who served from 1928 to 1941, and was its first honorary member. This award is presented to an individual member of the Water Environment Federation whose significant career contributions to the Federation and the water environment profession merit recognition.

Criteria for the award:

  1. Contributions to promoting and/or improving the standards of our industry through:
        a. Developing standards of practice
        b. Applied research 
        c. Relevant teaching/training
        d. Relevant publications/books/papers/presentations
        e. Relevant professional accomplishments
        f. Public policy and regulatory contributions
        g. "Thought Leadership"
  2. Contributions supporting the Federation's mission to the profession through:

    a. Leadership in WEF through the House of Delegates, the Board of Trustees, etc.
    b. Leadership in WEF Member Associations
    c. Leadership in developing relevant conferences/workshops, etc.
    d. Leadership in WEF through committees, work groups, etc.

    3. Member in good standing of the Water Environment Federation

    4. Nominees must meet criteria 1, 2, and 3 to be eligible for this award

WEF Membership Requirements for Application

Both the Nominee and Nominator must be current (not expired) WEF Members, in order for the Nominee to be considered for this award.

*If the nomination is being submitted by a Member Association (MA) or Community/Committee, please indicate the MA name or Community/Committee name within the application in lieu of a WEF Member ID #.

If needed, contact WEF's Customer Service Center for WEF Member ID information: | 1-800-666-0206 | 703-684-2400 | International Members/Customers: 1-571-830-1545


  • Online Nomination Form addressing the above criteria
  • Two-page curriculum vitae of nominee to include membership history and details
  • Specific reasons supporting the nomination (three pages maximum)
  • Any other relevant supporting material

Nominations accepted from

WEF Members
WEF Member Associations
WEF Committees

Nomination deadline

Application will be available annually on January 15 and close annually on March 31 at 11:59PM (Eastern).

Questions or Comments?

Contact: Rebecca Culhane
Manager, Awards and Scholarships
Phone: 1 + (703-684-2400) x7070