

2021 Award Winners

WEF Fellows:

Aisha Niang, P.E.
 Water Environment Association of Texas

Chris Johnston, P.E. British Columbia Water and Waste Association

3. Christopher Peot, P.E., BCEE
Chesapeake Water Environment Association

4. Erin Mosley, P.E. Louisiana Water Environment Association

 Francis L. De Los Reyes III, PhD North Carolina Water Environment Association

Jacqueline Jarrell, P.E.
 North Carolina Water Environment Association

Janet Hurley Cann, P.E.
 Water Environment Association of South Carolina

8. Jennifer Hartfelder, P.E.
Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association

Kristin Morico, P.E., BCEE
 New England Water Environment Association

10. Marlo R. Davis
Water Environment Association of Utah

11. Peter Cavagnaro, P.E., BCEE
Michigan Water Environment Association

12. Prakasam Tata, Ph.D., BCES, QEP Illinois Water Environment Association

13. Raynetta Curry Marshall, P.E. Florida Water Environment Association

14. Sidney Innerebner, PhD, P.E.
Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association

15. Sylvan Coles
Kansas Water Environment Association

Operational and Design Excellence Awards:

- 16. Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: Bongards Creameries (Perham, Minn.)
- 17. Innovative Technology Award

- 18. Morgan Operational Solutions Award: Michael Parsons
- 19. Water Quality Improvement Award
- 20. WEF Project Excellence Award: Longmont (Colo.) Biogas Treatment and RNG Fueling Station; Metro (Denver, Colo.) Wastewater Reclamation District Nuisance Struvite and Dewaterability Improvements; and Portsmouth, N.H. Peirce Island Wastewater Treatment Facility Upgrade
- 21. WEF Safety: City of Garland, Texas Duck Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant.

Organization and Association Recognition Awards:

22. Citation of Excellence in Advertising:

Best Overall Ad: Homa Pump Technology — *Increase Pump Station Efficiency, Decrease Life-Cycle Costs*

Best Presentation of Information (Full Page): Mueller — *Hymax – Innovative Pipe Solutions* **Best Presentation of Information (Less Than Full Page):** Electro Static Technology — *Protect Large Motors from Bearing Damage with AEGIS PRO Rings*

Best Design (Full Page): Xylem — FLYGT – New Concertor Pumping System with Integrated Intelligence

Best Design (Less Than Full Page): Flomatic Corporation — *Manufacturing in America: It's Our Commitment*

- 23. Member Association Excellence:
- 24. Member Association Safety Award:

Individual Service and Contribution Awards

- 25. Camp Applied Research Award: Dr. Bruce Rittmann
- 26. Collection Systems Award: Angela D. Charles and George Kurz
- 27. Emerson Distinguished Service Medal:
- 28. Engelbrecht International Achievement: Dr. Krishna R. Pagilla
- 29. Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Pono Hanson and Vanessa Borowski
- 30. Public Officials Award: County Executive Steven Bellone, Commissioner Mariyana Spyropoulos, and Senator Sherrod Brown
- 31. Ralph Fuhrman Medal: City of San Luis Obispo Water Resource Recovery Facility and California Polytechnic State University
- 32. Schroepfer Innovative Facility Design Medal:
- 33. Water Heroes Award: Contra Costa Water District; Chesterfield County Department of Utilities; Clackamas Water Environment Services; and Carlos Aldape and Johnathon Truong (Watershed Protection Program-City of Los Angeles, Department of Public Works and Bureau of Sanitation)
- 34. WEF Mentorship Award: Michael Sedon
- 35. Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality: Leonard Levine

Published Papers

36. Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal:

- 37. Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plan Operational Improvement Medal: "Fear Grease No More," Sircello, Water Environment & Technology, Vol. 32, No. 5, (May 2020), pg. 42
 - Author: Stan Sircello
- 38. McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration, or Sustainable Use Award: "Trichloroethylene degradation performance in aqueous solution by Fe (II) activated sodium percarbonate in the presence of surfactant sodium dodecyl sulfate", WER, August 2020, v. 92, no. 8, pp. 1142-1151 Authors: Jingyao Huang, Muhammad Danish, Xihao Jiang, Ping Tang, Qian Sui, Zhaofu Qiu, Shuguang Lyu
- 39. Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal: "Renewable Diesel-Unique Wastewater Treatment Challenges", 2020 WEFTEC Proceedings
 Authors: Michael E. Mecredy, Jonathan A. Kusowski, Russell R. Freda, T. Houston Flippin, Ronald W. Ballard

Education Awards

- 40. Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator: Dr. Joel J. Ducoste
- 41. Operator Scholarship: Kylie Turner, Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association; Mathew Tedla, Water Environment Association of Ontario; Kisha Ortiz, Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association; Nadine Robertson, Louisiana Water Environment Association; Daniel O'Sullivan, New York Water Environment Association; Leah Frances, California Water Environment Association; Mitchell Washington, Arizona Water Environment Association; Brian Carey, New Jersey Water Environment Association; Clayton John Marriott, Water Environment Association of Utah; Riley Cobb, New England Water Environment Association; Kacie Rear, Alaska Water/Wastewater Management Association; Todd Saums, Ohio Water Environment Association; Ian Oyama, Hawaii Water Environment Association; Elizabeth V. Jensen, Virginia Water Environment Association; Isaiah Rosario, Pennsylvania Water Environment Association
- 42. Public Communication & Outreach Program Award Other Category:
 Lott Clean Water Alliance WET Science Center Program; Central Contra Costa Sanitary District
 Pipe Protectors Program; DC Water, Wendy Water Drop Book.
- 43. Student Chapter of the Year Award:
- 44. WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship: Yian Sun