

## 2023 Award Winners

#### WEF Fellows:

1. Somnath Basu, Ph.D., P.E.

Water Environment Association of Texas

2. Lynn Broaddus, Ph.D.

Central States Water Environment Association

3. Ralph Erik Exton

Pennsylvania Water Environment Association

4. Henry E. Gibson

Water Environment Association of South Carolina

5. Jeanette Klamm

Kansas Water Environment Association

6. Dale E. Kocarek, P.E., BCEE

Ohio Water Environment Association

7. Jennifer Kelly Lachmayr, P.E., BCEE

New England Water Environment Association

8. William J. Mitsch, Ph.D.

Florida Water Environment Association

9. Mark Poling

Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association

10. F. Michael Saunders, Ph.D.

Georgia Association of Water Professionals

11. Dianne M. Sumego, P.E., O.I.T

Ohio Water Environment Association

12. Bob Swarner, P.E.

Pacific Northwest Clean Water Association

13. John Trofatter

Florida Water Environment Association, New England Water Environment Association

14. Billy G. Turner

Georgia Association of Water Professionals

15. Todd O. Williams, P.E.

NC One Water, Virginia Water Environment Association

# Operational and Design Excellence Awards:

- 16. Industrial Water Quality Achievement Award: Hornady Manufacturing Company (Grand Island, NE); Engineer & Constructor: Dallas Powell
- 17. Innovative Technology Award: Detection Instruments Corp/Acrulog PYT Acrulog

  Differential Pressure Logger; Xylem Flygt Adaptive 4200 Series Adaptive Mixers; 374Water 
  AirSCWO™
- 18. Morgan Operational Solutions Award: Not given this year.
- 19. Water Quality Improvement Award: Not given this year.
- 20. WEF Project Excellence Award: City of Billings (MT) Nutrient Upgrade, Expansion, and Improvements, Honorees: City of Billings, MT, Electrical Consultants, Inc., HDR Engineering,

Inc., Morrison-Maierle, Sletten Construction Companies, Terracon Consultants, Inc.; Muscatine (IA) Organic Recycling Center, Honorees: City of Muscatine, IA Water & Resource Recovery Facility, EcoEngineers, Leander Construction, Martin-Whitacre, Stanley Consultants, Inc., Terracon; Orange County Water District (OCWD) (CA) Groundwater Replenishment System Final Expansion, Honorees: Black & Veatch, Butier Engineering, CDM Smith, JF Shea, Orange County Sanitation District, Orange County Water District (OCWD), Separation Processes, Inc., Shimmick.

- 21. WEF Safety Award: Palm Beach County Water Utilities
- 22. Collection Systems Award: Dianne M. Sumego, P.E., O.I.T.

Organization and Association Recognition Awards:

### **Citation of Excellence in Advertising**

**Best Campaign:** Company Name: Vaughan Company, Inc. Ad Name: *Guaranteed Performance*, Advertising Agency: Brandner Communications

Best Overall Ad: Company Name: Gas Clip Technologies, Ad Name: Save a Canary

**Best Presentation of Information (Full Page):** Company Name: Blue-White Industries, Ad Name: *M3 Peristaltic Metering Pump* 

**Best Presentation of Information (Fractional):** Company Name: SAVÉCO North America Inc., Ad Name: *The BEAST Septage Receiving Station* 

**Best Design (Full Page):** Company Name: Atlas Copco Compressors, Ad Name: *Unlock Your Plant's Potential* 

**Best Design (Fractional):** Company Name: Nuvoda, Ad Name: *Shovel Ready Technology* 

23. Outstanding Member Association Award: (MA With Membership of less than 500): AZ Water Association

### Individual Service and Contribution Awards:

- 24. Camp Applied Research Award: Dr. Yang Deng
- 25. Emerson Distinguished Service Medal: Mohamed F. Dahab
- 26. Engelbrecht International Achievement: Ed McCormick
- 27. Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Amanda Martin Akins, Georgia Association of Water Professionals
- 28. Schroepfer Innovative Facility Design Medal: Dustin Craig, P.E., for leading the design of the Des Moines Wastewater Reclamation Facility RNG Pipeline Injection Project
- 29. Public Officials Award: Mr. Charles Amos, Chairman, McAllen Public Utility Board, Water Environment Association of Texas; Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi, (Illinois)
- 30. Ralph Fuhrman Medal: Not given this year.
- 31. Water Heroes Award: Ronald Carter (Louisiana); Mount Pleasant Waterworks Jackson Mississippi Water Response Team (Mount Pleasant, SC)
- 32. WEF Mentorship Award: Patrick "Murf" Murphy
- 33. W. Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award: Thomas Houston Flippin
- 34. Best WEFTEC Program Abstract Award: Orlando J. Castro, P.E., DBIA & Daniel Davila, P.E., Florida Water Environment Association, *Horizontal Directional Drilling of 7 miles of Large Diameter Forcemain through Downtown Fort Lauderdale*

### Published Papers:

- 35. Eddy Wastewater Principles/Processes Medal: Authors: Avery L. Carlson, Glen T. Daigger, Dr. Huanqi He, Per Halkjær Nielsen, Jizhong Zhou; "Comparative analysis of floc characteristics and microbial communities in anoxic and aerobic suspended growth processes." WER, Vol. 94 (December 2022).
- 36. Gascoigne Wastewater Treatment Plan Operational Improvement Medal: Not given this year.
- 37. McKee Groundwater Protection, Restoration, or Sustainable Use Award: Authors: Shanghai Du, Yingjie Liu, Lingjun Meng, Lijie Zhang. "Source identification and apportionment of the nitrogen in groundwater based on isotope methods in the Beilin region of Suihua basin, northeastern China." WER, Volume 94 (August 2022).
- 38. Rudolfs Industrial Waste Management Medal: Authors: Hiro Kuge, Larry Morris, Ph.D., Yasushi Terao. "Industrial Strength Reuse: Utilizing MBR+RO to Reduce Water Consumption by 70% at a Tractor Manufacturing Facility." Access Water Proceedings of the Water Environment Federation, WEFTEC Conference Paper (October 2022).

### **Education Awards:**

- 39. Fair Distinguished Engineering Educator: Eakalak Khan
- 40. Operator Scholarship: Dillon Anglin (Salt Lake City, UT), Colton Campbell (Hurricane, UT), Michael Graham (Sparta, GA), Kristin Hillier (Courtice, ON), Elizabeth Kornowski (Denver, CO), Jonathan Lewis (Sioux Falls, SD), Marlaina O'Bryan (Englewood, CO), Porfhy Ochoa (Pico Rivera, CA), Clayton Oliver (O'Fallon, MO), Marcos Quintero (Wentzville, MO), Mitchell Ryan (Greenfield, MA), Angelo Sacerdote (Petaluma, CA), Nicholas Shirley (Chinle, AZ), Chris Tatum (Oshawa, ON), Mr. Omar Tovar (Santa Rosa, CA), Gavin Westendorf (Lake Andes, SD). 41. Public Communication & Outreach Program Award:
  - MA Category: Virginia Water Environment Association, "The Straight Flush" Podcast Other Category #1: Florida Governmental Utility Authority (FGUA) Other Category #2: McAllen Public Utility
- 42. Student Chapter of the Year Award: Azalea Chapter University of South Alabama
- 43. WEF Canham Graduate Studies Scholarship: Priyanka Ali