October 2010, Vol. 22, No.10


The National Association of Sewer Service Companies (NASSCO; Owings Mills, Md.) board of directors selected Ted DeBoda as its executive director. DeBoda, a Water Environment Federation (Alexandria, Va.) member since 1991 and current vice president of the Chesapeake Water Environment Association (Sparks, Md.), began his term as NASSCO executive director in August.


Eimco Water Technologies (Austin, Texas) and its American subsidiary Enviroquip (Austin, Texas) merged earlier this year with Christ Water Technology (Aesch, Switzerland). The new company recently rechristened itself Ovivo, which is derived from the Latin word for life.


Pentair Inc. (Minneapolis) will provide a $175,000 grant to the WateReuse Research Foundation (Alexandria, Va.) to fund two research projects that promote onsite water-recycling systems and evaluate graywater treatment technologies for more widespread adoption.


The National Building Museum (Washington, D.C.) selected Engineers Without Borders–USA (Boulder, Colo.) to receive the 2010Henry C. Turner Prize for innovation in construction technology. The award, which includes $25,000, recognizes the group’s work connecting engineering students with development projects worldwide.


Colfax Corp. (Richmond, Va.) promoted William E. Roller to executive vice president of Colfax Americas. Roller joined Colfax in 1999 and most recently served as senior vice president and general manager of Colfax Americas.


New Mexico American Water (Clovis, N.M.), a wholly owned subsidiary of American Water (Voorhees, N.J.), appointed Daniel Bailet vice president. Bailet, who will be based in Albuquerque, previously worked with the company as a consultant for 9 years.


Thompson Pump and Manufacturing Co. Inc. (Port Orange, Fla.) achieved ISO 9001:2008 quality recertification for its Port Orange manufacturing facility. The new certification represents an enhancement to the company’s previous ISO 9001:2000 classification and required the company to demonstrate a comprehensive and effective quality management system that governs all areas of its operation.


The Maryland Rural Water Association (Woodbine) named the Elkton Wastewater Treatment Plant the state’s System of the Year for 2010. The $30 million, 12,000-m3/d (3.2-mgd) biological nutrient removal/enhanced nutrient removal wastewater treatment plant was brought on-line in 2008 to reduce pollution to and restore Chesapeake Bay.


Ronald C. Delo joined Dvirka and Bartilucci Consulting Engineers (Woodbury, N.Y.) as senior project director. A member of the wastewater collection and treatment division, he has more than 37 years of experience in civil and environmental engineering.


NSF International (Ann Arbor, Mich.) announced that Hyflux Membrane Manufacturing Pte. Ltd. (Singapore) is the first company to achieve NSF certification under its new NSF Public Drinking Water Equipment Performance Certification Program. In addition, NSF International announced that the Calgon Carbon Corp. (Pittsburgh) plant in Blue Lake, Calif., is the first to receive its certification for reactivated carbon used for water treatment, verifying that the reactivated carbon is safe for reuse in municipal water treatment applications.


Mark A. Halleman joined Parsons Corp. (Pasadena, Calif.) as vice president, business development, for the company’s water and infrastructure group. He has 30 years of infrastructure experience and is based in the company’s Washington, D.C., office.


The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (St. Joseph, Mich.)named Darrin Drollinger executive director.A 21-year member of the society with more than 20 years of experience in association management, Drollinger comes to the organization from the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (Milwaukee), where he was vice president of statistics, technical and safety services.


GEI Consultants (Woburn, Mass.) celebrated the company’s 40th anniversary on July 1. Established in 1970 as Geotechnical Engineers Inc., the company now employs 400 staff in 20 offices across the United States.

©2010 Water Environment Federation. All rights reserved.